Discuss Detroit » DISCUSS DETROIT! » Wikipedia hates Wayne State « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Blessyouboys
Username: Blessyouboys

Post Number: 387
Posted on Tuesday, March 10, 2009 - 10:58 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Does anyone else care that in the first sentence of Wayne's Wikipedia page the school is listed prominently as a "4th Tier University"? I have attempted in the past to change this yet I am continually, for some inane reason, shot down.

See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/W ayne_State_University

I am a Wayne State graduate so I am likely somewhat biased here, yet I will say that I have done a lot of national recruiting for my job and if I am ever unfamiliar with a school I often reference the Wiki page for the quality of the candidate. Is something like this helpful? (For school, city, state, you the WSU graduate)

No other schools in the state of Michigan (I didn't bother looking at Ferris) are arranged like WSU's page and it all seems rather inappropriate. I always felt that a school like Wayne was miles above say, a Central, what gives?

Andyguard73
Username: Andyguard73

Post Number: 304
Posted on Tuesday, March 10, 2009 - 11:15 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

quote:

I always felt that a school like Wayne was miles above say, a Central

Eff you too! :-) Fire Up Chips!

Downtown_lady
Username: Downtown_lady

Post Number: 609
Posted on Tuesday, March 10, 2009 - 11:17 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Tier 4 is the ranking given to WSU by U.S. News & World Report in their 2009 Best Colleges list.

http://colleges.usnews.ranking sandreviews.com/college/nation al-search/c_final_tier+4/page+ 3

http://www.usnews.com/articles /education/worlds-best-college s/2008/11/20/about-the-worlds- best-colleges-rankings.html?Pa geNr=1

Zimm
Username: Zimm

Post Number: 118