Discuss Detroit » DETROIT CONNECTIONS » Computer encryption « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Ddaydave
Username: Ddaydave

Post Number: 357
Posted on Friday, February 20, 2009 - 11:17 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have a laptop I want to encrypt I have been messing around with truecrypt http://www.truecrypt.org/ and really like it but havent had the guts to do my whole operating system yet. Does any one here use encryption software and have any recommendations on encryption software to use thanks. Dave

Jcole
Username: Jcole

Post Number: 5853
Posted on Friday, February 20, 2009 - 11:59 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm a contractor who does work for various companies, and only one uses encryption software. Depending on how you encrypt, it can cause problems if you have a crash and the boot sector bombs. One of my clients has to have full system encryption, and his PC took a dump. There is no way to boot back into the system to use Restore. The encryption assumes you are trying to hack and won't give you any way to recover. You can try a DOS decrypt, but in this instance it didn't work, so I had to reformat his machine and he lost everything. It was a nightmare.
If you are going to encrypt, keep a complete recent back up on hand at all times.
Also, keep a copy of your password somewhere safe in the event something happens to you and others need to get into that laptop.
I'll try to find you the name of the software and post it here later

Jcole

Post Number: 5854
Posted on Friday, February 20, 2009 - 12:02 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The company I was talking about uses PGP encryption software.
They are a financial institution so they need powerful software

Islandman
Username: Islandman

Post Number: 1977
Posted on Friday, February 20, 2009 - 1:04 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)