Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2007 » "Wayne State admits just about anyone" » Archive through July 30, 2007 « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

3rdworldcity
Username: 3rdworldcity

Post Number: 815
Posted on Sunday, July 29, 2007 - 8:48 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I graduated from WSU Law a long time ago. I got a great leal education there.

I practiced law for several years - our firm, 20 lawyers - practiced high level commercial real estate, banking, corporate and tax law.

As the hiring partner for two years I interviewed graduates from seven very good law schools, but I always hired WSU grads, concentrating on ones who spent a lot of time in night school, had families, and were hungry. Grades were secondary.

The people I hired are now senior partners in their respective practice groups at much larger firms and doing very well. (My old firm disbanded a couple of years after I stopped practicing law for a living; the senior partners were in a position financially to retire early and several did.) And, the people I hired are now hiring WSU grads more often than not.

Lilpup
Username: Lilpup

Post Number: 2516
Posted on Sunday, July 29, 2007 - 9:02 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You're complaining about candy wrappers on the table? Believe me, ANY university with a large student body has candy wrappers on the tables - including the Ivy Leaguers.

I remember a killer of a grad school math class summer semester at Michigan, on the fourth floor of Angell Hall, sweltering in the midday heat (easily 90+ degrees in the room) because there was no air conditioning, as well as a math discussion section on the top floor of West Engineering (now West Hall) where we used to get dripped on every time it rained!

Ccbatson
Username: Ccbatson

Post Number: 1500
Posted on Sunday, July 29, 2007 - 9:18 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)