Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2007 » Tiger Stadium area Bars/Parking Lots « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Sharms
Username: Sharms

Post Number: 13
Posted on Thursday, August 09, 2007 - 2:30 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I came to work for Channel 7 in 1982. After growing up in the Detroit area, I really hadn't been there since I graduated from MSU in 1973. So here I come, not thinking ahead, and driving my 1982 White Nissan 280zx sports car. I wasn;t thinking about how much native Detroiters just "loved" foreign made cars. When I started working on the news, I found I could leave the station after the 6pm show and catch a few innings before I had to leave if I were doing the 11pm show. My first trip to the Stadium I realized that if I parked in the Stadium players lot, I would get blocked in and couldnt leave til the game was over. I backed out of the lot and saw a guy across the street motioning me over. He ran out onto Trumbull and led me to parking place in the back of a Michigan Ave bar. I gave the guy 20 bucks and told him I would be leaving after the seventh inning. Night after night, this guy--his name was Mopey--protected by "foreign" car from all domestic threats. Just trying to remember the name of the bar....was there a Howdy's around there? Anyway this site makes the memories really well up. Thanks

Jman
Username: Jman

Post Number: 86
Posted on Thursday, August 09, 2007 - 6:13 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Could it be Hoot's?

Ray1936
Username: Ray1936

Post Number: 1770
Posted on Thursday, August 09, 2007 - 12:23 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Do you still drive a rice-burner or have you become patriotic? :-)

Craig
Username: Craig

Post Number: 211
Posted on Thursday, August 09, 2007 - 12:29 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)