Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2007 » Where in Metro Detroit are these expat posters actually from? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Queensfinest
Username: Queensfinest

Post Number: 129
Posted on Friday, August 31, 2007 - 4:10 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Some of you might recognize me from prior posts. I check the sight every once in a while due to the fact that I am a student and professor of urban issues, urban planning, policy, design, and architecture, amongst other trivial subjects, in cities all over the U.S. and around the globe.

I actually work for the Department of City Planning here in New York City and I teach courses on the side at a very, let's say, well known institution of higher learning here in NYC.

Some of my prior posts have of course elicited responses that I wasn't exactly searching for, but nonetheless perhaps should have expected, as I am not the type of person whose opinions usually pass without significant rebuttal.

I'm starting this thread because I've noticed a certain poster, who may or may not be in Washington D.C., who nevertheless seems very informed and well-educated, yet on the other hand seems to have a very specific agenda against the residents of Metro Detroit, Michigan, and the Midwest (generally I feel the Detroit area does have and should have more in common with the Great Lakes Mega-region, so let's please lose the Midwest identity in the name of progress...)and in any case seems to obtain some sort of satisfaction during the process of degrading the area that this site takes its name from.

The reason that I mention this is because I have observed a pattern of resentment towards ones place of origin, that i believe to be evident in this particular poster's behavior, attitude and comments, that represents an attitude of shame or embarrassment possibly due to one's upbringing usually once they have moved on to a more cosmopolitan locale.