Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2007 » Catholic High Schools » Archive through August 26, 2007 « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Stinger4me
Username: Stinger4me

Post Number: 5
Posted on Saturday, August 25, 2007 - 6:24 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

How about the high schools in Detroit, all-boy, all-girl, co-ed. The rivalries between schools and the Goodfellow Football games. Name your school.

Pharmer_b
Username: Pharmer_b

Post Number: 1
Posted on Saturday, August 25, 2007 - 7:36 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I graduated from Bishop Gallagher in 1976. The student body comprised a mix of Detroiters, Grosse Pointers, and Macomb County residents. I wasn't really a sports guy, but I remember there was a rivalry with De La Salle over an airplane propeller or something like that. Does anyone remember the details?

Rickinatlanta
Username: Rickinatlanta

Post Number: 113
Posted on Saturday, August 25, 2007 - 10:08 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

St. Gabriel's HS, Vernor Hwy. last graduating Class of 1970 as the school was closed after we graduated. It's now a Ceasar Chavez Quick Start Center I believe.

Titancub
Username: Titancub

Post Number: 71
Posted on Saturday, August 25, 2007 - 11:08 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Starts and ends with UD Jesuit.

Greatness exemplified in that they are the only ones still in the city - much less thriving.

65memories
Username: 65memories

Post Number: 452
Posted on Saturday, August 25, 2007 - 11:15 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Titancub..

I agree.

(Don't even get me started about Catholic Central, DeLaSalle and others)

Goirish1966
Username: Goirish1966

Post Number: 21
Posted on Saturday, August 25, 2007 - 1:22 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

harper wood notre dame (1954-2005), class of 1966, an all-male school.