Discuss Detroit » Archives - July 2007 » Detroit-area ad agencies » Archive through October 08, 2007 « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Patrick
Username: Patrick

Post Number: 5007
Posted on Friday, October 05, 2007 - 7:22 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I know we have several advertising pros on this site. I worked at several agencies and I know the "Adcraft" world is somewhat tight-knit. Anyone have any good stories or experiences in Detroit's advertising world?

Blueidone
Username: Blueidone

Post Number: 138
Posted on Friday, October 05, 2007 - 8:36 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have no personal experience...but my sister got a job working at Campbell Ewald back in the early 60's...right out of high school...her job consisted of going through all the local papers and cutting out all the ads that C/E developed and filing them away. Once she was done, she had to stay at her desk, but could knit or do anything else she wanted.

I don't remember how much she made, but for the time it was a lot. She was able to buy a brand new car, take trips and vacations that most women her age couldn't afford. And believe it or not, she lost the job for being late to work all the time!

But that's probably not what you were looking for :-)

Patrick

Post Number: 5008
Posted on Friday, October 05, 2007 - 8:39 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yeah, just that. Would be sweet to hear more stories, especially ones about certain ad agencies on the Lodge that caught fire...hmmmmm

Gnome
Username: Gnome

Post Number: 146
Posted on Friday, October 05, 2007 - 9:14 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

On the Lodge that caught fire? What? plz explain..

Leland_palmer
Username: Leland_palmer

Post Number: 389
Posted on Friday, October 05, 2007 - 9:17 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)