Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » ISO Chuck Hughes story - help him out Detroit « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Lowell
Board Administrator
Username: Lowell

Post Number: 4356
Posted on Thursday, December 13, 2007 - 11:32 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This arrived in the mailbag today. While three forumers are called I am sure any others with info would be greatly appreciated. Lets give him a Detroit helping hand.
quote:

Mr. Boileau:

I am a freelance writer in the process of researching what I expect will one day be a biography of Chuck Hughes, a former professional football player with the Philadelphia Eagles (1967-'69) and Detroit Lions (1970-'71).

As you may - or may not - know, Mr. Hughes, while a member of the Lions, collapsed and died on the field at Detroit's Tiger Stadium on October 24, 1971 during the final moments of a game against the Chicago Bears. It was later determined that the 28-year-old was suffering from an advanced case of arteriosclerosis.

Long story short: one of the wrinkles I'm trying to work into my manuscript is the addition of the impressions of a handful of people who were in Tiger Stadium that day as fans. I've talked to literally dozens of Mr. Hughes' Lions' teammates, coaches and even opponents. But the memories of the "man on the street" fascinate me.

For months, I had been trying to elicit the help of several relatively prominent Detroit sportswriters in this endeavor - but to no avail. After failing with that group, I started researching bulletin boards related to Detroit issues - like the one you've created. I have been able to accomplish in just a few weeks what I'd been trying in vain for months through the working press.

To this date, I have opened up dialogues with two people who will be wonderful sources for this book. Three others have responded - but I have no way of contacting them.