Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Should I go to traffic court in Detroit? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Irvine_laird
Username: Irvine_laird

Post Number: 80
Posted on Monday, February 18, 2008 - 11:16 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

A Detroit Police officer pulled me over the other night because he claimed I ran a red light at Brush and the I-75 service drive. He claimed that light is always red, never green or yellow, but I feel certain it was yellow when I went through it. I wasn't speeding. Now, I've never had a ticket in my life and I am a cautious driver. In fact, when I perpetrated this "crime", my fiance was giving me a hard time about driving "too nice." The cop gave me a real hard time and even told me I'd been drinking (even though I hadn't had a drop). He chewed me out--got kind of rude--even though I was as respectful and soft-spoken as I could be. He wrote me a $125 ticket for "failing to yield" or something like that. Should I bother going to traffic court or should I just pay the fine? After all, it's his word against mine.

Rel
Username: Rel

Post Number: 150
Posted on Monday, February 18, 2008 - 11:25 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Go! Contest it, and point out your perfect record. He was trying to fish for an OUI.

You may not need a lawyer for this one... I would just go, be sincere, and honest about what happened. It's not that big a ticket, but it could raise your insurance rates.

Cdwaters
Username: Cdwaters

Post Number: 10
Posted on Monday, February 18, 2008 - 11:26 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)