Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Poll: Mass Transit Options « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Ltorivia485
Username: Ltorivia485

Post Number: 3001
Posted on Tuesday, February 26, 2008 - 8:05 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Which transit system do you think will work the best for the Metro Detroit region? Explain why. (If you don't know the difference, look them up on Google or Wiki).

- Light-Rail (elevated or street-level)
- Monorail
- Subway
- Commuter Rail

Detroitstar
Username: Detroitstar

Post Number: 982
Posted on Tuesday, February 26, 2008 - 8:11 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think Commuter Rail is the best system to sink money into in terms of what is best for the city and region as a whole. But I dont know a whole lot. I am not a transit expert, and will not pretend to be one.

Rocket_city
Username: Rocket_city

Post Number: 643
Posted on Tuesday, February 26, 2008 - 8:21 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Woodward could hangle heavy rail. A tube could effectively fit underneath Woodward for quite a length. It will never happen, since digging down will always be the most costly.

If Atlanta, with 1/2 the density of Detroit, can build a heavy rail MARTA line, then so could Detroit with much of the infrastructure to built upon already in place.

Other spoke corridors I'd support light rail and a commuter rail btw. AA and the city, via the airport as a must.

W_chicago
Username: W_chicago

Post Number: 4
Posted on Tuesday, February 26, 2008 - 8:48 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

3 Tier System

1. High-speed rail connecting city center to city center. (i.e. chicago to detroit)

2. Commuter rail connecting suburb to suburb and suburb to city center