Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Hollywood may lose a favorite backdrop « Previous Next »
Archive through April 04, 2008Greatlakes30 04-04-08  12:21 pm
  ClosedNew threads cannot be started on this page. The threads above are previous posts made to this thread.        

Top of pageBottom of page

Gotdetroit
Username: Gotdetroit

Post Number: 137
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 12:27 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I don't float around on this board enough to know who's an engineer and who isn't. Could an actual engineer chime in?

My guess is, you put in enough explosives near the base of ANY building more than, say, 10 stories, and it will weaken the structure enough for gravity and shear weight to take it down. MCS is probably no exception.

But then I'm not an engineer.

Digitalvision
Username: Digitalvision

Post Number: 687
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 12:28 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ahh... see, I think many corporations do not want to be downtown... heck, most I talk to prefer the suburban layout and that station gives that with multitudinous options for parking. Downtown, urban layouts are not for everyone - and I think not even preferred by the majority, just a passionate and valuable minority.

It's a logistical thing - it's very easy to get on and off freeways and when you're moving a few thousand people in and out everyday... not to mention, it can be easier to secure a campus.

I can't see a non-profit or cultural organization raising the capital to make that happen.. not to mention, they'd have to buy the thing off of Matty, which adds more to the cost.

Club_boss
Username: Club_boss

Post Number: 364
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 12:48 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)