Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Coming home « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Detroitnative
Username: Detroitnative

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 6:37 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello everyone. It is nice to be back in the forum. Nobody probably remembers me, but I was here years ago. Anyhow, I have a question. The military has brought me to Virginia, but I'd like to move back home. The only thing that is keeping me here is a job. I am an experienced Industrial Mechanic with a military background. Does anybody know where I can find a promising career in the Detroit area? Any and all help is appreciated.

Bigb23
Username: Bigb23

Post Number: 1006
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 7:10 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I would like to help DN. But we are scrounging here as it is.
Back in the 80's I told a guy in my prototype area not to rejoin the Navy as a simulator jockey.(as an ex-Navy person).

Four months later -

It turns out he got the same job back, in the same area as before, but through a major contractor at a 300% pay increase.
Shop around.

Hornwrecker
Username: Hornwrecker

Post Number: 2004
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 7:44 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

One of the few things that is expanding around here, is the Army's TACOM in Warren. Don't know if they're looking for anyone right now since their site appears to be FUBAR. A few of their contractors are opening up engineering and other offices in the area to be nearby. Don't know if they need any knuckledraggers.

ex-Navy knuckledragger

Eriedearie
Username: Eriedearie

Post Number: 1226
Posted on Friday, April 04, 2008 - 8:28 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)