Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Good time to put down seed??? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Django
Username: Django

Post Number: 288
Posted on Tuesday, May 06, 2008 - 11:44 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ive got my "razzle Dazzle tomatos", "sweet cubanalle peppers", and "Bartlett hybrid melons" started indoors today to put outside in spring. Im new to this, can someone tell me when to put my sweet corn, cucumbers and sunflower seed in the ground. They all say "after danger of frost" on the Burpee packs. When exactly is that in SE Michigan? Ive been told Mid june but others say much earlier. Wheres Farmer Frank when I need him.

Also wondering how to tell if a seed is organic. I bought my seed through Burpee Seed Co. which my family of farmers has been buying from for generations.

Eriedearie
Username: Eriedearie

Post Number: 1424
Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008 - 12:04 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Django - my dad always started his seeds in the ground mid May, but would not put the tomato or pepper plants in till the end of the month. He was raised on a farm and his garden has always produced wonderful veggies. About the melons, I'm not sure on that, he never took a chance on growing those. Good luck! Hope you find out you have a green thumb!

Novine
Username: Novine

Post Number: 504
Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008 - 12:46 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Usually end of may is considered safe from frost. You can go mid-may but be mindful of the weather especially when skies go clear and the winds go calm overnight. Here's some more info.

http://www.victoryseeds.com/fr ost/

Django

Post Number: 291
Posted on Wednesday, May 07, 2008 - 1:15 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thank you, both of you, Looks like May 12 is the last day for the average frost. Il wait a week or so after that just to be safe.