Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » What chains are acceptable downtown? « Previous Next »
Archive through May 16, 2008Professorscott30 05-16-08  11:12 am
Archive through May 16, 2008Detroitstar30 05-16-08  9:54 pm
  ClosedNew threads cannot be started on this page. The threads above are previous posts made to this thread.        

Top of pageBottom of page

Detroitmaybe
Username: Detroitmaybe

Post Number: 119
Posted on Sunday, May 18, 2008 - 12:14 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Thank you for this thread, as I am a commercial real estate agent and my company currently represents one of the main strips on lower Woodward. As we speak, there is a convention going on in Las Vegas called the Int'l Council of Shopping Centers Convention and reps from most of the retailers listed will be attending. My firm, as well as other commercial real estate companies, and even the City of Detroit and DEGC will be there trying to sell these retailers on the potential that exists in Detroit.

I am a firm supporter of any business, national or local that is willing to take a chance on Detroit. Many national companies look at their bottom line, and in the past they have had better investment options than Detroit and have chosen to expand their businesses elsewhere.

This is the first time in recent history that Detroit has been in a position to be a major competitor against other markets as we have seen many new developments and at least the density is increasing in Downtown/Midtown. I firmly believe that we will start to see more "chain" stores moving in Downtown over the next few years as Detroit is more attractive than ever, and is prime real estate!!

Royce
Username: Royce

Post Number: 2627
Posted on Sunday, May 18, 2008 - 6:03 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)