Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Red wings-dallas stars « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Ditman
Username: Ditman

Post Number: 47
Posted on Tuesday, May 20, 2008 - 1:38 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

As an ex-motorcity resident I am thrilled that
the Wings are in the finals. Under any other circumstance I would support the Stars but in this circumstance it was a no-brainer.
Hockey is not a big deal in Dallas(except for the transplants like me). The Cowboys are to Dallas what the Red Wings are to Detroit.
A few years ago I was at an outdoor art festival in Birmingham & bought a photo of the old Olympia.
You can see on the marquee: Wings-Maple Leaf playoff tickets on sale & pro wrestling Sat night-
Dick the Bruiser vs Alex Karras. Anyone remember that? Guess the photo was from 1962 or 63.
GO WINGS! Bring home the cup>

Mackinaw
Username: Mackinaw

Post Number: 4804
Posted on Tuesday, May 20, 2008 - 2:01 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Have that picture in my house, Ditman.

Go Wings!

Miguel
Username: Miguel

Post Number: 8
Posted on Tuesday, May 20, 2008 - 2:58 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Maybe a new arena announcement will come soon

Ditman
Username: Ditman

Post Number: 48
Posted on Wednesday, May 21, 2008 - 5:49 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

mackinaw-glad to hear that you have the same Olympia photo. I saw that Bruiser match in person(big Bruiser fan back then). Are you the person that had a Lions gameday program from the 50's at Briggs Stadium. If you are or know oneone that does have one, I may be interested.
GO WINGS

Mackinaw
Username: Mackinaw

Post Number: 4808
Posted on Wednesday, May 21, 2008 - 7:03 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Now that I don't know about.