Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Eph McNally's Questions and More » Archive through October 24, 2008 « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Bearinabox
Username: Bearinabox

Post Number: 975
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 7:33 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

quote:

Really? Paying for a bottle of water is a deal breaker?

It pisses people off. I'm no expert, but I think it's pretty safe to say that pissing off customers is a bad idea. Maybe not a deal breaker, exactly, but the sort of thing that builds subconscious negative associations with a place, makes it seem "unfriendly," and gives the impression that they don't really want your business. Instead of "god, I love this sandwich," people will think "this sandwich is good, but..."
And isn't wasting all that plastic sort of contradictory to the ideal behind composting the coffee grounds? Envirohippies hate plastic bottles. I should know, I'm one of them. :-)

Atwater
Username: Atwater

Post Number: 310
Posted on Thursday, October 23, 2008 - 7:41 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Frankly, the water thing matters to me, too. Water is free (or nearly free), and it's just the expected common courtesy to give customers water, even to go, if they want it, and are paying for a meal, of course. Expecting a customer to purchase a bottle of water just seems to me like a ploy to force customers to spend more money. While I wouldn't necessarily call it a deal-breaker for me, it would certainly leave a bad taste in my mouth. And if someone's watching every dollar spent, and they are gonna want water with their meal, then a sandwich at Eph's just became a dollar more than a sandwich elsewhere at a place that will give free tap water out. Some people may choose to go to the other place..

Long_in_the_tooth
Username: Long_in_the_tooth

Post Number: 141