Discuss Detroit » Archives - January 2008 » Don't know about much about Detroit or Michigan « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Mopardan
Username: Mopardan

Post Number: 40
Posted on Saturday, December 13, 2008 - 12:53 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

But I do know something about Alabama...
Just reading about what you Detroiters & Michiganites write on here, I gather things are very tough up there. The economic mess in addition to the Auto Industry debacle no doubt has compounded things beyond belief.
To be quite honest, I'm not a big Pro-Union guy, but fully understand that it's due to the efforts of organizations like the UAW, US Steelworkers, etc that helped create weekends, safety in the workplace & finally, the driving force to launch the middle class in this country. On the flipside, they became somewhat drunk on their gains, have suffered loss of membership & garnered a very bad public image. In some cases they have forced some companies out of business or driven them into the south.