Discuss Detroit » Archives - March 2009 » Audio Field Recording- Call to prayer (Mosque) « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Bigcab
Username: Bigcab

Post Number: 47
Posted on Monday, March 02, 2009 - 10:50 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am looking for a mosque that that broadcasts a call to prayer through speakers to the surrounding neighborhood in the Metro Detroit Area. I would prefer a live Imam over a recorded one, but would appreciate either. I am a photographer who would like to do a series on the grittier parts of Warren ave. in Dearborn. and the audio would be part of a slideshow type multimedia production. Thanks.

Big_baby_jebus
Username: Big_baby_jebus

Post Number: 93
Posted on Monday, March 02, 2009 - 11:18 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hamtramck, every freaking night around 6pm.

Good luck

Lilpup
Username: Lilpup

Post Number: 5365
Posted on Monday, March 02, 2009 - 11:23 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

If you are doing an honest piece about Dearborn then you should find a call to prayer from Dearborn that you can actually hear while on Warren.

Bigcab

Post Number: 48
Posted on Monday, March 02, 2009 - 11:46 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

lilpup :

I agree, however if I can't find an audio source near Warren ave in Dearborn, I'll take it where i can find it. This is for a personal portfolio, not National Geographic.

Big Baby Jebus : Could You be anymore specific as to a good location to be. Street intersections would be appreciated..I'll be travelling from Port Huron to record this..would love to get it in one trip. Thanks

Raj313
Username: Raj313

Post Number: 54
Posted on Monday, March 02, 2009 - 11:54 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Fort & Deaborn streets right across the street Woodmere. Sun up and sundown.

Big_baby_jebus

Post Number: 94