Discuss Detroit » DISCUSS DETROIT! » ::: DetroitYES Sports Forum ::: » ::: DetroitYES Sports Forum ::: Archives » Chuck Hughes - October 24, 1971 « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Thebadguy
Username: Thebadguy

Post Number: 1
Posted on Saturday, November 24, 2007 - 11:05 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am a freelance writer in the process of researching what I expect will one day be a biography of Chuck Hughes, a former professional football player with the Philadelphia Eagles (1967-'69) and Detroit Lions (1970-'71).

As many here are probably aware, Mr. Hughes, while playing for the Lions, collapsed and died on the field of Tiger Stadium during the final moments of a game against the Chicago Bears on October 24, 1971.

A couple of years back, I decided the time had long since passed to find out more about Mr. Hughes and have spent the last two years researching his life and death. To this point, I have completed more than 150 interviews - Alex Karras, Lem Barney, Joe Schmidt, Chuck Knox, Kent Falb, Rockne Freitas, Greg Landry, Wayne Walker, Ed Flanagan, Charlie Sanders, Wayne Rasmussen, Errol Mann, Tom Vaughn, Nick Eddy, Greg Barton, Bob Kowalkowski, Herman Weaver, Steve Owens, Terry Miller, Bill Cottrell, Larry Hand and John Wright, among the most notable Lions on that list. I have also had conversations with former Lions' public relations executive Elliott Trumbull and former Detroit News sportswriter Jerry Green. (I am still trying to get an interview with William Clay Ford, Sr., although I have my doubts that will actually happen.)