Discuss Detroit » DISCUSS DETROIT! » Tigers pitcher on DL for uncustomary reason « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Realitycheck
Username: Realitycheck

Post Number: 382
Posted on Sunday, March 29, 2009 - 5:16 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

"I'm not crazy," lefty pitcher Dontrelle Willis says in a frank article posted today by the Tigers, reporting that he's left spring training because of an anxiety disorder.

"My teammates might think I'm crazy, but this is not something like that," Willis says. "This is something totally different that I'm concerned about."

Dave Dombrowksi says the club worries that "he hasn't shown consistency." Manager Jim Leyland, sounding baffled by it all, says:
quote:

Whatever it takes to get him to [pitch successfully], it's far beyond my understanding. I'm a baseball manager, and that's what I deal with.

Our forum-mate Bill Shea shares blunt comments, with just slight restraint, on his Crain's Detroit Business blog.

East_detroit
Username: East_detroit

Post Number: 2086
Posted on Sunday, March 29, 2009 - 5:56 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

"I don't mean to make fun, but anxiety disorder? Really?"

Don't mean to make fun? Really?

Navi
Username: Navi

Post Number: 55
Posted on Sunday, March 29, 2009 - 6:07 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Zach Greinke had this a couple years ago and got it sorted out and is now a productive pitcher.

Dannyv
Username: Dannyv

Post Number: 628
Posted on Sunday, March 29, 2009 - 6:08 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I can see Dontrelle Willis BEING an anxiety disorder to Jim Leyland and Dave Dombrowski every time they hand him the ball because of his inconsistency in throwing strikes, not having an anxiety disorder. Is he the new Jimmy Piersall?

Hamtragedy
Username: Hamtragedy

Post Number: 398