Discuss Detroit » NON-DETROIT ISSUES » Genealogy... « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Rjk
Username: Rjk

Post Number: 1078
Posted on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 9:34 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm just starting to research my family history.
I have the book Polish Roots and have just begun to read it.
I'd be curious to hear from people who have researched their history and how far back they were able to go.
Any other advice would be much appreciated.

Maof2
Username: Maof2

Post Number: 1321
Posted on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 10:39 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm sure you'll hear from Ray1936. He's big into genology.

Leoqueen
Username: Leoqueen

Post Number: 2714
Posted on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 10:54 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have been researching family history for about 10 years. Got my Dad's family traced back to 1825, when his paternal grandmother was born; my Mom's family back to 1830 when her paternal grandfather was born. I did this using Ancestry.com, using census records. I was surprised to get even this much information, being that they were African-American, and were not registered on the census until 1870.
My husband's family was easier to trace. There were others who researched branches of his family, so I piggybacked on their research. His paternal great-grandfather was born in the very early 1800's in Indiana; Indiana research is relatively easy because they have copious amounts of records available. I would suggest that you open a subscription to Ancestry.com, as they are constantly revising and adding on records to search. Good Luck! Geneology is one of the things I like most to talk about!

Mashugruskie
Username: Mashugruskie

Post Number: 417
Posted on Saturday, January 10, 2009 - 11:58 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)