Discuss Detroit Archives - Beginning January 2006 Comcast Complaint Previous Next
Top of pageBottom of page

Mrfrench
Member
Username: Mrfrench

Post Number: 15
Registered: 01-2006
Posted From: 69.136.146.194
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 11:52 am: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Is there any alternative for high speed internet
besides Comcast. Any other company that had a record with this lack of service, accountability and dishonesty would be out of business.
Is there ANY OTHER CHOICE!!!!
I live in Corktown.
Top of pageBottom of page

Jltyler
Member
Username: Jltyler

Post Number: 243
Registered: 03-2005
Posted From: 69.212.34.58
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 11:58 am: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

SBC DSL is great for me havent had any downtime in over a year and a half.
Top of pageBottom of page

Livernoisyard
Member
Username: Livernoisyard

Post Number: 195
Registered: 10-2004
Posted From: 69.242.223.42
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:06 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

My Comcast is great. I connect at something less than their max of 6Mbs, though. About 3Mbs or so - or twice T1 rates. I did a 65 MB beta download from Sun in less than 8 sec a couple years ago.
Top of pageBottom of page

Focusonthed
Member
Username: Focusonthed

Post Number: 10
Registered: 02-2006
Posted From: 209.220.229.254
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:06 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have WOW, and it's been pretty good to me. Way cheaper than Comcast too...I pay less than $100 for digital cable + HBO and 4MB internet.
Top of pageBottom of page

Chris_rohn
Member
Username: Chris_rohn

Post Number: 200
Registered: 04-2005
Posted From: 68.73.199.142
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:13 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You can't get WOW in Corktown.
Top of pageBottom of page

Matt
Member
Username: Matt

Post Number: 999
Registered: 10-2003
Posted From: 24.221.73.42
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:15 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You can't get WOW anywhere in the city, apparently.
Top of pageBottom of page

Livernoisyard
Member
Username: Livernoisyard

Post Number: 196
Registered: 10-2004
Posted From: 69.242.223.42
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:16 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

WOW is a good deal for Warren and vicinity. Is that 4MBs or Mbs? There's a speed difference of a factor of eight.

(Message edited by livernoisyard on February 28, 2006)
Top of pageBottom of page

Gravitymachine
Member
Username: Gravitymachine

Post Number: 886
Registered: 05-2005
Posted From: 198.208.159.20
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:18 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

its either DSL or Comcast....course with DSL you need the land line of course, if you already have one, go DSL for sure. I had earthlink DSL (uses SBC lines) and I never had a single issue with it.

But, I just moved and ended up with comcast, not because I wanted to with all the horrible things I've heard about them, but because I don't have or need a land line in the new place. cable tv + cable internet is cheaper than cable tv + DSL + phone line


Wide open West could be an alternative in the future but its out in the 'burbs and not servicing Detroit yet. (check with them just in case)...I've heard nothing but good things about them
Top of pageBottom of page

Skulker
Member
Username: Skulker

Post Number: 3629
Registered: 10-2003
Posted From: 67.103.104.93
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:31 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Comcast is the only cable based option for high speed internet in the City of Detroit. They have an exclusive franchise in the City.

SBC (or other carrier) DSL is your only other option until WiMAx is readily available.
Top of pageBottom of page

Gravitymachine
Member
Username: Gravitymachine

Post Number: 888
Registered: 05-2005
Posted From: 198.208.159.20
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 12:33 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

what is WiMAx? city-wide wireless or something?
Top of pageBottom of page

Ndavies
Member
Username: Ndavies

Post Number: 1652
Registered: 10-2003
Posted From: 129.9.163.233
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 1:09 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

WiMax is a new wireless internet technology. It's similar to WiFi with a much greater speed and range. The standard is currently being finalized and equipment is currently undergoing trials. The systems has a 30+ mile range and a throughput of over 14 megbits per second. It will make county wide WiFi projects obsolete.

http://www.wimaxforum.org
http://www.wimax.com/

WiMax is supposed to be available in Detroit from one of the Cell phone companies this spring. It might be a viable option to Comcast and DSL.

(Message edited by ndavies on February 28, 2006)
Top of pageBottom of page

Focusonthed
Member
Username: Focusonthed

Post Number: 11
Registered: 02-2006
Posted From: 209.220.229.254
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 1:12 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Livernoisyard, my bad, 4Mbps for WOW
Top of pageBottom of page

Livernoisyard
Member
Username: Livernoisyard

Post Number: 199
Registered: 10-2004
Posted From: 69.242.223.42
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 1:14 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I knew. I might be tempted to move to Macomb County for that speed increase...
Top of pageBottom of page

Bob
Member
Username: Bob

Post Number: 779
Registered: 11-2003
Posted From: 64.12.116.204
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 1:32 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have known many people who have had WOW and their service was very spotty, especially the internet. Very rarely did they ever get the max download speed and lots of outages. Although Comcast is a pain to deal with, their service is far superior to WOW, if you are in an area that gets it.
Top of pageBottom of page

Machoken
Member
Username: Machoken

Post Number: 1132
Registered: 10-2003
Posted From: 207.145.38.104
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 1:35 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

What's the gripe about Comcast anyhow? I don't have cable TV, but I'm pretty happy with my high speed internet. I generally see speeds along the same lines as Livernoisyard (although I wish upload was a bit faster), and I don't experience a whole lot of downtime (probably less than 1% of the time: 1-2 days total per year, doesn't seem bad for a consumer level connection). Usually any interruptions in the connection is resolved by resetting my modem, and if that doesn't work the service is usually back up in a few hours after I call them, although I'm probably not the first call they receive about the outage.
Top of pageBottom of page

Focusonthed
Member
Username: Focusonthed

Post Number: 12
Registered: 02-2006
Posted From: 209.220.229.254
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 2:09 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

WOW is also available in the Royal Oak vicinity, Ferndale for me. So no need to give in and go to Warren, S.H., et al. :-)
Top of pageBottom of page

Livernoisyard
Member
Username: Livernoisyard

Post Number: 203
Registered: 10-2004
Posted From: 69.242.223.42
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 2:12 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Warren's probably cheaper. I play softball with (mostly) Eastpointers twice weekly M & W mornings for 6 or 7 months/yr.
Top of pageBottom of page

Ro_resident
Member
Username: Ro_resident

Post Number: 152
Registered: 11-2003
Posted From: 69.14.126.140
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 4:22 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have had WOW internet since they rolled out service in Royal Oak.

Apart from the first few months, service has been very reliable. Probably 95% of problems could be resolved by rebooting the modem. Of course, YMMV, depending on your location.
Top of pageBottom of page

Mcp001
Member
Username: Mcp001

Post Number: 2033
Registered: 11-2003
Posted From: 66.92.210.2
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 4:22 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ever try AT&T or Starband?
Top of pageBottom of page

Livernoisyard
Member
Username: Livernoisyard

Post Number: 207
Registered: 10-2004
Posted From: 69.242.223.42
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 5:13 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

In my case, repowering the Belkin firewall/router usually clears up any perceived slowness. So I repower everything once in a while - modem, router, and VoIP.
Top of pageBottom of page

Machoken
Member
Username: Machoken

Post Number: 1134
Registered: 10-2003
Posted From: 68.85.155.145
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 6:37 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ah, VOIP - now that's a good tool to tell if your connection sucks.
Top of pageBottom of page

Mcpd1300
Member
Username: Mcpd1300

Post Number: 63
Registered: 01-2006
Posted From: 68.42.175.57
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 6:43 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

When I lived in Harrison Twp I switched from Comcast to WOW! and loved having WOW. Super friendly customer care, anytime there was an outage, I called they not only fixed the problem promptly but they also gave me a downtime credit on my bill. Fantastic service. Now that I live in the City of Detroit, I'm stuck with Comcast. The television service itself periodically has that "pixelation" thats similar to satellite TV getting fuzzy (if that makes sense) but it usually clears up pretty quickly. I am annoyed by the UPLOAD capping rate of 30kbps, but my download rates seem to be just ducky. The other thing you need to take into effect, if you're getting slow downloads, is what is the upload speed of the server you are downloading from.
Top of pageBottom of page

Machoken
Member
Username: Machoken

Post Number: 1135
Registered: 10-2003
Posted From: 68.85.155.145
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 6:47 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Comcast will give you a credit too, if you ask them. It's not automatic, but they never give me a hard time about my request.
Top of pageBottom of page

Jimaz
Member
Username: Jimaz

Post Number: 258
Registered: 12-2005
Posted From: 68.2.191.57
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 6:49 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)


quote:

VOIP - now that's a good tool to tell if your connection sucks.


Seriously, what tools do people here use to monitor their connection dynamically? I've been using "ping -t 216.127.80.118" in a DOS window but I'm sure there must be a better way.
Top of pageBottom of page

Mcpd1300
Member
Username: Mcpd1300

Post Number: 64
Registered: 01-2006
Posted From: 68.42.175.57
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 6:55 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

ooh, I forgot to add that yes, VoIP is a fantastic way to determine if your connection blows. My VoIP is very touchy... though I tend to believe it has something to do with the server equipment I have here in my house that manages my voicemail and stuff.
Top of pageBottom of page

Islandman
Member
Username: Islandman

Post Number: 88
Registered: 08-2004
Posted From: 68.42.171.59
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 6:57 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

There are plenty of different tools out there (and web sites), but they will take up bandwith by actively checking the line all the time. Better to do it periodically, and as was mentioned, recycle your hardware from time to time.
Top of pageBottom of page

Machoken
Member
Username: Machoken

Post Number: 1136
Registered: 10-2003
Posted From: 68.85.155.145
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 9:14 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

You got QoS on that VoIP Mcpd1300? I was running a telephony server at work on a 384K T1 line (so uploads are the same speed as downloads) without a whole lot of trouble, and we hosted a web and email server too. (we're now up to 768K, which is still pretty slow...) The only thing that causes trouble is incoming www traffic, which is hard to police - so when people are on the phone everybody stays off the internet. But without QoS, VoIP was very rough.
Top of pageBottom of page

Noggin
Member
Username: Noggin

Post Number: 50
Registered: 09-2004
Posted From: 71.227.102.104
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 9:21 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I have also heard that people that have WOW available in their area can take those rates to Comcast to get a major reduction in their bill rate.
Top of pageBottom of page

Old_southwest
Member
Username: Old_southwest

Post Number: 114
Registered: 07-2005
Posted From: 67.149.72.160
Posted on Tuesday, February 28, 2006 - 9:37 pm: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've had WOW! for almost 3 years. It's always working, never a problem. Speed is fine. I have cable and 512K inet for $70 a month.
Top of pageBottom of page

Danny
Member
Username: Danny

Post Number: 3760
Registered: 02-2004
Posted From: 141.217.174.223
Posted on Wednesday, March 01, 2006 - 9:41 am: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Comcast High Speed Internet and 99% excellent tech support. While SBC DSL has 99% terrible tech support. That's why Comcast still remains that totally monopoly in the cable and internet communications market and now they about to take over the phone market, by updating its phone service by using a cable line.

WORD FROM THE STREET PHOPHET. For its COMCASTIC!
Top of pageBottom of page

Livernoisyard
Member
Username: Livernoisyard

Post Number: 214
Registered: 10-2004
Posted From: 69.242.223.42
Posted on Wednesday, March 01, 2006 - 9:57 am: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

No real complaints - Only a few problems here with Comcast. One time, they sent an idiotic contractor crew over to disconnect me over a non-payment issue while I was away. Trouble was they went to the wrong house and street! My neighbor next door said these nuts could barely climb a ladder. More like the Two Stooges.

Well, it got reconnected and I got a credit rebate that covered about a week's service for being off a day.
Top of pageBottom of page

Detroitduo
Member
Username: Detroitduo

Post Number: 504
Registered: 06-2005
Posted From: 194.138.39.56
Posted on Wednesday, March 01, 2006 - 10:31 am: Edit PostDelete PostMove Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Danny must be off his medication again. Living in Brush Park, SBC-DSL is the best service we have had. It is fast and in 6 years, I think our service was down twice for 12 hours each. Although SBC is not the greatest customer service, they have always been helpful and gotten what we needed.

Hate Comcast and glad we do not have to deal with those Bozo's.

Add Your Message Here
Posting is currently disabled in this topic. Contact your discussion moderator for more information.