Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » Why some neighborhoods still strong? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Focusonthed
Username: Focusonthed

Post Number: 22
Posted From: 209.220.229.254
Posted on Tuesday, March 07, 2006 - 2:14 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Forgive me, but I'm fairly new to the Detroit area. Background: I've lived in Michigan for 5 years now, in Metro D by virtue of my parents (who I didn't live with mostly) for 2 years, and lived alone in Ferndale for 6 months now. My mothers side of the family are all native Westsiders, with my grandparents hailing from GR/Outer Drive and 14th/Davison, respectively, and my mother from Dearborn.

I'm familiar with a lot of the events causing the gradual downfall of Detroit, but why have some neighborhoods lived on in a fairly decent representation of the way they were, compared to others?

For instance, Grand River as a corridor seems to be in much better than Gratiot or Michigan. Similarly, there are the pockets of original construction still well-maintained along E. Jefferson. Why have some of these areas stayed intact while others were vacated, then dilapidated, then burned/torn down?

And for God's sake, what happened on the near east side north of Jefferson (chene area)?

Jams
Username: Jams

Post Number: 2861
Posted From: 69.212.123.178
Posted on Tuesday, March 07, 2006 - 2:23 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Are you talking about Chene, north of Gratiot?
Chene between Jefferson and Gratiot is a very nice area.

Focusonthed
Username: Focusonthed

Post Number: 24
Posted From: 209.220.229.254
Posted on Tuesday, March 07, 2006 - 2:25 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yes, sorry, Chene between Gratiot and Ford Fwy...even over to some parts of The Blvd.

Barnesfoto
Username: Barnesfoto

Post Number: 1746
Posted From: 66.2.148.176