Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » My experience last night downtown « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Wazootyman
Username: Wazootyman

Post Number: 31
Posted From: 71.65.15.68
Posted on Sunday, April 02, 2006 - 3:41 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I need to have a mini-rant about what happened to me last night in downtown Detroit. I expect to take some heat for posting this, but I feel like I need to tell someone, because I was pretty upset by it last night.

First of all, I don't live in Detroit, I live in Livonia. After I graduated from college, I lived at my parents' house briefly before purchasing a home. Rather than spend all afternoon making excuses, I'll simply state that based on financial ability, proximity to my employer and resale potential, Livonia made the most sense for me. Aruging about why I don't live in Detroit isn't something I want to discuss at the moment.

That said, I love Detroit. I've lusted over potentially purchasing a loft downtown, and point to the 1001 Woodward building as my "dream home" of sorts, even though I know nothing about it other than $275+/sqft seems a bit out of my means. My girlfriend, who used to refer to Detroit as "de-toilet" now loves spending time there. We've gone to games, skated at the park numerous times, frequented festivals, concerts, theaters, clubs, bars and restaurants. I probably am downtown on average at least once a week

Her parents don't live near Detroit, and they typically only visit on their way to Metro Airport prior to flying out on vacation. They were here for the evening last night, and I decided to plan a night downtown for us. They hadn't been there in at least 10 years.