Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » My Detroit Project « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Expat
Username: Expat

Post Number: 29
Posted From: 24.60.133.101
Posted on Tuesday, April 04, 2006 - 5:00 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This is a message from a frequent lurker and sometime participant at detroityes. If I might, I’d like to tap the collective knowledge of this extraordinary virtual community for help on a project that I am working on about Detroit.

Here’s my story: I grew up in Detroit in the 1950s and ’60s, left for good in the mid-’70s for college and beyond (currently living in the Boston area after detours via Europe and Washington, DC, an editor and writer by profession).

Until recently, I had long assumed that Detroit was safely part of my past; indeed, I barely thought about the place for years. But recently, I have found myself drawn back to the city in my imagination. I’m currently writing a personal history about growing up in Detroit. Basically, it’s a memoir, but with the peculiar twist that it focuses on my experience as a child of some of the great examples of Detroit architecture.

Let me cite an example to give you an idea of what I mean: as a child, I regularly went to the dentist at the Fisher Building. I realize now that the building had an enormous impact on me, even though (or, perhaps, especially because) I had absolutely no sense of its architectural importance at the time. So, I’m writing both about the history of the creation of the Fisher Building in the 1920s and about my experience of the building in the ’60s—what it represented to me as a child and why.