Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » Crime is a BUSINESS issue - and Detroit is losing « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Salvadordelmundo
Username: Salvadordelmundo

Post Number: 4
Posted From: 69.241.236.181
Posted on Thursday, April 27, 2006 - 10:36 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi, I should introduce myself. I grew up in SW Detroit as well as Ypsilanti. I work in the marketing business, but have some side interests in real estate. I'm not that old, and I sure hope that by the time I die, Detroit will be in a shape that we'd all be proud to pass on to our kids. One of the best things about this forum is the discussion of problems and solutions. From my (marketing) perspective, let me tell you about the problem of crime, and how it reaches deep into corporate business decisions.

We all know that Geely Corp's choice of a US headquarters will be a big economic boost to the site that gets chosen. Detroit is a strong contender, but I bet you HAVEN'T seen the anti-Detroit marketing materials produced by other sites under consideration, and circulated up to Geely's mainland China management staff. I have seen some of this stuff, and a recurring theme is crime.

Let me provide some background - in the Chinese corporate world, South Africa has a notorious reputation for crime and violence. Several Chinese and Korean business executives have been carjacked, kidnapped, or executed there since the fall of apartheid. Most now travel in armored cars, with bodyguards carrying MP5 rifles.

One of the promotional videos circulated up to Geely management was titled "Detroit - Your Next South Africa." In Mandarin, it went through Detroit's high homicide and crime rates, showing plenty of photos of thuggish-looking violent crime suspects, burnt-out buildings, scenes from a Discovery Health Channel documentary on Detroit Receiving Hospital, Detroit's funding woes regarding police, etc.