Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2006 » Underground Railroad... « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Livedog2
Username: Livedog2

Post Number: 183
Posted From: 24.223.133.177
Posted on Monday, May 01, 2006 - 5:32 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am a lifelong resident of Detroit but I am ashamedly ignorant of the Underground Railroad activities that took place in Detroit. So, I am interested in any information anyone would like to share on this thread. Of course, I am interested in all the whys and wherefores of the Underground Railroad but I am also interested in any remnants, structures, historical signs or any visible signs of this important part of Detroit’s history.

What brought this interest up to me is a conversation I was having with a lifelong friend that lives in Sarnia, Ontario. We were talking hockey and she told me that there were quite a few black hockey players in Chatham, Ontario where some players that went into the NHL were originally from. I thought that was odd given that there are not many black players in the NHL and asked her about it and that was when she told me that there was quite a large community of blacks in Chatham. I asked her why and she stumbled over the fact that there was some kind of railroad where blacks had come from Detroit. I said, “Do you mean the Underground Railroad?” And, she said, “Yes, that’s it the Underground Railroad!” So, that got me thinking about the Underground Railroad.

underground

Livedog2

Jams
Username: Jams

Post Number: 3221
Posted From: 68.252.127.221
Posted on Monday, May 01, 2006 - 5:42 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Take some time to visit 2nd Baptist on Monroe in Greektown and 1st Congregational on Woodward.

The statue on the river in Hart Plaza faces another on the Windsor side.

The placque in Capital Park commerates Findlay's Barn an important stop.