Discuss Detroit » Hall of Fame Threads » I work(ed) in a Detroit automobile plant » Archive through August 09, 2008 « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Warrenite84
Username: Warrenite84

Post Number: 347
Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 11:30 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

LOL.( Lots of nods and chuckles here.) Sterling stamping had it's issues, but Chrysler's Detroit Axle Plant was like a soap opera in fast forward.

Back when I was a newbie, it took me 90 days to bump to 1st shift because the lowest seniority person I would bump was a girl screwing the boss in another department. Of course my boss didn't care, union either.

We had a union Committeeman get in a fight with a worker on the floor. Both got fired and brought back after about a month or so. Later they both ran for the Local President position. On voting day one made hot dogs across from the union hall. The other made tacos. Guess who won? The guy who made tacos, of course! We would go to one and load up on chow, and give them a nod and a wink that our vote was theirs. Then we would go chow at the other guy's camp, and give him the same nod and wink!

Hey, how about that tented plastic sheeting to divert rainwater off your head? I enjoyed working under those pregnant ones full of oily water. :-)

Detroithabitater
Username: Detroithabitater

Post Number: 164
Posted on Thursday, August 07, 2008 - 11:36 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Ford MTP, DFP, DAP 1999-2002

Steelworker
Username: Steelworker

Post Number: 1128
Posted on Friday, August 08, 2008 - 2:43 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Im from the steelworkers local that was closed because our treasurer stole around 300,000 from just out local. crazy times working in a factory definitely an old boys establishment.

Townonenorth
Username: Townonenorth

Post Number: 81