Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning July 2006 » ::: Upcoming Elections Mega Thread ::: » Shocking DeVos and Detroit insights « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Frenchman_in_the_d
Username: Frenchman_in_the_d

Post Number: 1
Posted From: 68.40.99.146
Posted on Tuesday, August 29, 2006 - 9:46 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hello all,

I've been reading the forum on a daily basis for the past 2 years and I finally decided to post my first thread that you will all deem, I hope, very important for the future of Detroit.

I am a student at the University of Michigan (School of Diplomacy) and I've been living in southeast MI for 3 years now (moved from France). Obviously very involved politically (nominated U.S. Citizen Ambassador by Under Secretary of State Karen Hughes last year) I was advised by the U.S. State Dpt to follow up on the up coming MI Gubernatorial elections and submit a report to the Public Diplomacy Office in D.C.

Last Sunday, I met with Dick DeVos personally at a fundraiser in West Bloomfield. He, as usual, lapsed into the heavy stigmas and problems MI is undergoing and how he was going to resolve them.

First and foremost, I love Detroit, because growing up in France taught me that a city is more than glitzy towers, perfectly lined palm trees and exaggerated, clean, never-ending avenues punctuated by big, large, gas guzzling autos. I have been exploring Detroit actively since I moved to the US of A.

Being a Detroit lover and someone who will really try to raise a family in a city that could have an amazing future, I asked DeVos a lengthy question: in a nutshell, I explained that MI was slowly slipping into a brain-drain scenario.