Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning July 2006 » "Where Are You Going Quo Vadis?" « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Lowell
Board Administrator
Username: Lowell

Post Number: 2975
Posted on Friday, September 15, 2006 - 9:16 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

This long abandoned googie classic sitting across Wayne Road from Westland Shopping Center ironically begs its own Latin translation question. Where are you going?

Where is it going? Stories? Memories?

View from the north...
N

...entrance detail...
entrance

...blue and gold tile detail...
tile

...view from the south [Westland sign is brown sign behind left leg of first sign.
south

Czar
Username: Czar

Post Number: 3239
Posted on Friday, September 15, 2006 - 9:38 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Growing up in a western border suburb, I saw tons of movies at Quo Vadis growing up. I also worked as a short-order cook at the Westland Hudson's Restaurant during high school.

My wife and I saw "A Fish Called Wanda" there in the early days of our relationship, back in 1988.

Lowell
Board Administrator
Username: Lowell

Post Number: 2977
Posted on Friday, September 15, 2006 - 9:40 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

What was the "Penthouse" about? How many theaters did it contain?

Czar

Post Number: 3240
Posted on Friday, September 15, 2006 - 9:44 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

It only had one or two theaters. I seem to remember, in the early days, it had a lounge area where you could have drinks, maybe even food.

56packman
Username: 56packman

Post Number: 589
Posted on Friday, September 15, 2006 - 9:44 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

there were two theatres in the Penthouse, Lowell.

Superaygun
Username: Superaygun

Post Number: 521
Posted on Friday, September 15, 2006 - 9:57 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)