Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning July 2006 » Dowtown Detroit Entertainment Zone « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Mayor_sekou
Username: Mayor_sekou

Post Number: 15
Posted on Friday, September 22, 2006 - 3:58 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Im a college student who dosent sleep so I caught this little gem of an article on freep.com early this morning.

Local columnists
ROCHELLE RILEY: Downtown entertains a new idea

September 22, 2006
BY ROCHELLE RILEY

FREE PRESS COLUMNIST

A group of Detroit businessmen who own or operate theaters, restaurants and hotels have joined forces to create a well-marked, well-lit entertainment zone that will offer ticket packages to entice metro Detroiters downtown to have fun.

The 22-member Entertainment District Association includes some of Detroit's heaviest lifters who are answering the post-Super Bowl call to keep downtown vibrant when opposing football teams aren't in town.

"This isn't about bringing back Hudson's," Vincent Paul, executive director of the Detroit Music Hall, said Thursday. "It's about ... coming downtown without a plan. ...

"It's our contention that we do a pretty good job down here on a daily basis. You can come downtown without a plan, and we will entertain your socks off. There's always a show running. ... There's always excellent food being served."

The association includes owners and directors of the Detroit Athletic Club, the Detroit Opera House, Cheli's Chili Bar, the Gem & Century theaters, Harmonie Park restaurants and the Fox Theatre and Comerica Park. The association plans to work with the Downtown Detroit Partnership and police to help Detroiters celebrate their home.

As thrilling as the district sounds, I'm even happier that it could become a catalyst for regional mass transit.