Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning July 2006 » Where to live and work? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Jeduncan
Username: Jeduncan

Post Number: 1
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 12:17 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I'm new to this forum, but a long time reader and fan of the site. Hi!

I'm a student at Wayne State and I'm tired of living and working in the 'burbs... a friend and I are looking for a place to live either downtown or midtown, and I'm trying to find a place (preferably a bar) to work at. I've been talking about it since 10th grade, and it's high time I get a move on.

Any suggestions on either for downtown living and/or employment?

Apbest
Username: Apbest

Post Number: 272
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 12:29 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

http://detroitmidtown.org

go to housing or development

(Message edited by apbest on November 14, 2006)

Jeduncan

Post Number: 2
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 12:33 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yeah, I've checked out some stuff on that site, pretty cool stuff! I'm actually working on getting an internship with the UCCA right now. Hopefully I hear back from them.

I need to get some bar experience so that I can get a job at a bar down there somewhere because working retail to get me through school is a hinderance when they want me to be there 5 days a week for very limited pay.

Apbest
Username: Apbest

Post Number: 273
Posted on Tuesday, November 14, 2006 - 12:46 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

no shortages of Bars in downtown

close to you, Northern Lights in new center (I know the owner)

Cass Cafe, honest johns, bronx, etc...

and tons downtown in the GCP area/Park ave

but UCCA's website is the most comprehensive list of midtown housing Ive seen yet

Pistonian_revolution
Username: Pistonian_revolution

Post Number: 38