Discuss Detroit » Archives - Connections II » Woodworking/ Carpentry Apprentice available « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Spitty
Username: Spitty

Post Number: 559
Posted on Friday, April 20, 2007 - 9:02 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've always wanted to learn to make chairs, benches, stools, etc., but I don't have any access to power tools and I have no experience (besides assembling Ikea and Sauder crap). I've had drafting classes in high school, but never any wood shop. I built a shelf in Webloes, but it's crap. I'm wondering if anyone out there who takes pride in their craft would be willing to teach me or allow me to watch and learn. I'm a pretty fast learner and I currently have a 9-5 so it would have to be a part time or weekend thing. I live downtown in Lafayette Park so something nearby would be preferred.

Post below or Email me at spitanski@hotmail.com if you'd be willing to help me out by letting me help.

Thanks,
Jeff

(Message edited by spitty on April 20, 2007)

Spitty

Post Number: 561
Posted on Sunday, April 22, 2007 - 2:50 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

No responses...Anybody know where else I could look for something like this or know of someone who might be able to help me out?

Lilpup
Username: Lilpup

Post Number: 2059
Posted on Sunday, April 22, 2007 - 5:18 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

a co-worker once told me the union (carpenters & millwrights) would teach you, but I don't know about working around another 9-5 job

can't hurt to give them a call

Plymouthres
Username: Plymouthres

Post Number: 101
Posted on Sunday, April 22, 2007 - 8:36 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Spitty-