Discuss Detroit » Archives - Connections II » Advice needed - how to revive an old degree? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Lilpup
Username: Lilpup

Post Number: 1313
Posted From: 69.130.18.100
Posted on Thursday, September 07, 2006 - 11:39 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Hi all,
About 16 years ago I completed a Masters in Engineering (Aerospace). At the time the field was really tight and I didn't get any offers right out of school. I ended up floating in the job I had with a small business and have basically been doing financial/administrative stuff all these years.

How can I go about trying to revive my degree? Is there any chance of getting an entry level position as is? Would I just need refresher courses? Would I have to get another degree in a related field?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Livernoisyard
Username: Livernoisyard

Post Number: 1378
Posted From: 69.242.223.42
Posted on Friday, September 08, 2006 - 12:27 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The end of the Cold War killed off aerospace engineers and lots of EEs--my field.

Why bother with a degree if you already have one? Many people work outside their degreed area with no problems. A degree is merely a rite of passage for those areas where a particular degree isn't required by law. It indicates that you can finish something which you started.

Lilpup
Username: Lilpup

Post Number: 1314
Posted From: 69.130.18.100
Posted on Friday, September 08, 2006 - 1:11 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

There are jobs in Aero now and I was wondering how I could get in after this long away.

(Within a year or two of graduating Aero had fallen to the lowest paid engineering. Yesterday I saw what the current salaries are and fell off my chair. It was like getting punched in the gut seeing what my degree is worth today and what I feel like I've pissed away.)

East_detroit
Username: East_detroit

Post Number: 728