Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » WSU graduation - FB stadium « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Emu_steve
Username: Emu_steve

Post Number: 275
Posted on Sunday, May 06, 2007 - 8:35 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I saw their graduation photos in the Freep.

How did Wayne turn their oldish looking football stadium into the sea of green (with yellow/gold accents) seating?

That stadium looks neat.

One would be surprised at the number of stadia at powerhouse programs whose stadium seating looks downright ugly when seen empty.

Some of the bench seating looks terribly weather worn.

Jhartmich
Username: Jhartmich

Post Number: 27
Posted on Sunday, May 06, 2007 - 10:24 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I thought Wayne State did an outstanding job. I graduated last year with a Master's and was the first class in 80-some (?) years to have commencement at the football field.

One thing that changed this year was the number of tickets available to graduates. Last year it was 6: mom, dad, two sets of grandparents. This year it was 5 tickets. Students grumbled because someone might have to stay home (assuming all are alive and wanting to attend).

Hats off to WSU - they did a good job.

Emu_steve

Post Number: 276
Posted on Sunday, May 06, 2007 - 10:34 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

JHart:

Was the FieldTurf in place and the stadium painted (or whatever they did) when you graduated?

I've seen photos of the WSU stadium from years ago and it looked pretty drab.

Now it looks really neat.

Andylinn
Username: Andylinn

Post Number: 398
Posted on Sunday, May 06, 2007 - 10:43 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

i was there in support of my sister's masters. stadium looked wonderful, and the president's speech was well done, but here's my note (in comparison to u-m's graduations this year and last)