Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » Help identify this Great Lakes steamer! « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Rhymeswithrawk
Username: Rhymeswithrawk

Post Number: 918
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2007 - 5:08 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I am no expert on the 1910s-1930s Detroit steamers and could use some help identifying this guy:

http://i215.photobucket.com/al bums/cc280/buildingsofdetroit/ Postcards/Steamer.jpg

It's not the Greater Detroit or the City of Detroit III (not enough smokestacks). Could it be the Eastern States? I know the color scheme would match, but I think the Eastern States had only one smokestack. Sure looks like a D&C steamer judging by its appearance and the logo on the front.
Any help is appreciated.

Aiw
Username: Aiw

Post Number: 6393
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2007 - 7:04 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I think that's the City of Cleveland, less glamourous sister of the City of Detroit. Based on the color scheme it's a D&C ship..

http://www.hhpl.on.ca/GreatLak es/GLImages/FullImage.asp?ifid =1363&number=

Gazhekwe
Username: Gazhekwe

Post Number: 713
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2007 - 10:02 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The name on the bow does seem to be City of Cleveland. Love the pix!

Leland_palmer
Username: Leland_palmer

Post Number: 385
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2007 - 11:10 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Would it be a Cleveland Steamer then?

Gazhekwe

Post Number: 714
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2007 - 11:24 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

D& C = Detroit & Cleveland Navigation Company, I think.

(Message edited by gazhekwe on October 02, 2007)

Gazhekwe

Post Number: 715
Posted on Tuesday, October 02, 2007 - 11:29 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)