Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » Lafayette Building « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Nyct
Username: Nyct

Post Number: 74
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2007 - 4:12 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Excuse the naivete, but i'm fairly new to the detroit area and stare at this building daily. what's the deal with it? someone's gotta be all over renovating this one just for it's proximity to the book cadillac, no?

Ndavies
Username: Ndavies

Post Number: 2791
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2007 - 4:16 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

The city owns the building. It was put out for RFP (Request for proposals) a couple of years ago. The winner of the RFP was unable to negotiate a development agreement with the city. I expect it to go back out for a second RFP in the near future.

Thejesus
Username: Thejesus

Post Number: 2301
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2007 - 4:19 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

there was a tentative deal w/ a company called Peebles to renovate it into apartments, but an issue arose over parking...

apparently the idea was floated to dig an underground tunnel over to BC garage like Kales did w/ GCP, but the massive utility infastructure under Michigan Ave. prevented this...

Next the city and developer couldn't agree on who would pay for the costs associated with building a parking structure or tunnel...

So Peebles backed out...

It seems the city is waiting for the BC and Griswold to be finished before pitching it to another developer...it's possible they think they will get a better deal once the area improves

Nyct
Username: Nyct

Post Number: 75
Posted on Wednesday, October 03, 2007 - 4:26 pm:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

thanks for the info. i'll be keeping an eye on it.

Ndavies
Username: Ndavies

Post Number: 2792