Discuss Detroit » Archives - Beginning January 2007 » Does the state build buildings on campuses anymore? « Previous Next »
Top of pageBottom of page

Emu_steve
Username: Emu_steve

Post Number: 96
Posted on Monday, January 22, 2007 - 9:54 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

http://www.crainsdetroit.com/a pps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/2007 0122/SUB/701190331/1061

EMU is self financing 100M for their science building (I was a grad student in that bldg. long ago - it was mediocre back then).

WSU has raised over 350M in a capital campaign for 3 major buildings.

Like isn't the state mostly responsible for funding capital items for higher education?

Like I can see student fees, capital campaigns for athletic stadia and arena, auditorums, etc etc. but like for a SCIENCE building????

If the state won't finance a science building for Eastern or a School of Business Ad. building for Wayne, what are they financing?????

Bobj
Username: Bobj

Post Number: 1676
Posted on Monday, January 22, 2007 - 9:58 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

I've heard from people that I know that work in higher ed that the university funding has dramatically changed in the last 10 years or so. The State funds about 1/3, tution 1/3, and other sources about 1/3. So waiting around for the State could leave you behind

Emu_steve

Post Number: 97
Posted on Monday, January 22, 2007 - 10:11 am:   Edit PostDelete Post   Move Post (Moderator/Admin Only)

Yep, Bob.

There are now 'haves and have nots' among universities.

Universities with huge endowments will do well, others will not.

Too bad there is plenty of need for the UofMs, WSU and EMUs. Different missions and different student populations, but still the same need to get a medical doctor or teacher educated.

I looked at the WSU capital campaign and can't figure out why the state isn't funding say HALF of the cost of these three new buildings?

The_nerd
Username: The_nerd

Post Number: 371